Posted by: Stenros | June 22, 2009

Holiday Snapshots

Invader somewhere between Souhtbank Centre and Tate Modern.

Invader somewhere between Souhtbank Centre and Tate Modern.

Trafalgal Square

Trafalgar Square

Going through the photos on my camera I found these pics from my spring trip to London. I didn’t have time to really go hunting for street art, but in London you can’t help running into it. Not only are these pieces playful, they are inspired by games.

Space Invaders are apparently fairly widespread nowadays (or at least they feature in all the recent street art books), but I hadn’t seen them before myself. The pavement painting on the left also seems to open into Marioworld, but I may be imagining things.

Invader in Soho

Invader in Soho

Have I mentioned recently how envious I am of people who live in large cities that have vibrant street cultures? Gamewise the Nordics are a great place to be located in, but crosspollination with the art world would probably yeild even more intereting projects if we had a stronger art underground. Ah, the grass is always greener…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

