Posted by: pervasivegames | February 10, 2009

The City as “My Playground”

I’m really looking forward to My Playground, a documentary by Kaspar Astrup Schröder on parkour and movementin urban space. The film will feature urban planners, politicians, architects and philosophers in addition to the traceurs. Our cities are our playgrounds and a dialogue between the different players is vital. The film is coming out this summer.

During the process of writing Pervasive Games I noticed that I was constantly drawn towards the more paideic end on pervaive play. In the book we concentrate mostly on the ludic end of the spectrum, but the numerous playful activities that use the city as a playground seem to be accessible to a larger audience / player base. Well, maybe not hard core parkour, but some other forms…


Leave a comment

Categories