Posted by: Montola | June 15, 2009

Thought for the Day

To be honest, there’s a thing I’m quite ashamed of, regarding my research on pervasive games. I’ve never been to Come Out & Play, Hide & Seek or The Sandpit.

While I also regret never attending ARGFest-o-Con or those GC Summits, it’s a different kind of regret. A researcher of these things should use every opportunity to play and participate, because even when doing so you get to play far too little to get any decent hands-on overview. Unfortunately, for a researcher it is very hard to fund trips to places where you don’t publish papers or give speeches.

Google is still dry on last weekend’s Come Out & Play 2009, anyone want to guest-blog it?


Responses

  1. It was a hell of a festival. Since I was running my own game I didn’t get to play nearly as much as I would have liked, but I would be happy to contribute a few thoughts on what I did experience.


Leave a Reply

Categories

